New Hanover County Schools announce Educators of the Year

Published: Jun. 9, 2016 at 4:14 PM EDT|Updated: Jun. 10, 2016 at 4:23 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC (WECT) - The New Hanover County Schools Educators of the Year were announced at a banquet on Tuesday night.

The Teachers of the Year at each level were:

Elementary School – Christopher Walters, Parsley Elementary School

Middle School – Jeremy Buie, DC Virgo Preparatory Academy

High School – Sandra Cecelski, Ashley High School

Walters also was named the overall New Hanover County Schools Teacher of the Year. As part of the honor, Walters gets to use a new Toyota Prius II from Hendrick Toyota of Wilmington for one year.

Hoggard High School's Dr. Steven Sullivan was named the Principal of the Year.

During the banquet, the Board of Education recognized the Teacher of the Year from each school:

Jessica Williams, Alderman

Crystal Jones, Anderson

Sandra Cecelski, Ashley

Elizabeth Keyser, Bellamy

Amy Coderre, Blair

Rebecca Stockard, Bradley Creek

Jessica "Blair" Williams, Carolina Beach

Michael Jeffreys, Castle Hayne

Melinda Durant, Codington

Kaitlin Purrazzella, College Park

Linda Maxey, College Rd Early Childhood Center

Lora Crowley, Eaton

Mary "Caitlin" Fischetti, Forest Hills

Ruth Pitstick, Freeman

John Pellizzari, Gregory

Christi Lea, Hoggard

Nathanial Culp, Holly Shelter

Cheryl Toney-Jones, Holly Tree

Dayna Hibbetts, Howe Pre-K

Michael Kelly, Isaac Bear

Annah Reese, Johnson

Denise Fowler, Lake Forest

Sharon Williams, Laney

Kimberly "Paige" Voorhees, Career Readiness Academy and Pathways

Andrea Newby, Murray

Brittany Brown, Murrayville

Lana Latham, Myrtle Grove

Kylee Maarschalk, New Hanover

William Graham, Noble

Kelly Balcome, Ogden

Christopher Walters, Parsley

Shenicka Smith, Pine Valley

Joel Kay, Roland-Grise

David Rutledge, Snipes

Erin Redmond, Sunset Park

Diana Woodlock, Trask

Jeremy Buie, D.C. Virgo

Dawn Silika, M.C. Williams

Laura Butler, Williston

Deborah Jones, Wilmington Early College

Donna Haucke, Winter Park

Samantha Keller, Wrightsboro

Hanna McMurry, Wrightsville Beach