NHC Board of Education democratic primary recount begins Wednesday

NHC Board of Elections sets date for school board democratic primary recount
Published: May. 31, 2022 at 2:27 PM EDT|Updated: Jun. 8, 2022 at 4:51 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, N.C. (WECT) - The recount between incumbent Nelson Beaulieu and newcomer Jennah Bosch for the New Hanover County Board of Education will take place Wednesday, June 8, at 9 a.m. at the Northeast Library on Military Cutoff Road.

The recount was called by Beaulieu after the election canvass inched Beaulieu out.

Beaulieu was three votes ahead of Bosch after election day but finished two votes behind Bosch after the canvass.

“Normally in a recount, the results match,” said New Hanover County Elections Director Rae Hunter-Havens. “But every now and then, you could see a very small number of changes, sometimes just due to the sensitivity of the voting equipment they’re using to scan. But typically the results are very close, if not exactly the same.”

The two nominees are vying for the fourth democratic spot to run in the November election.

Hunter-Havens says she is working with the North Carolina State Board of Elections to determine what the process would be if the two candidates were to receive the same number of votes after the recount.

“We’re working with the North Carolina State Board of elections get some sort of legal guidance,” Hunter-Havens said. “For instance, if there is a tie in a recount, do we automatically re-count again, under with circumstances would there be a hand to eye count, and under what circumstances with the candidates qualified to have a second primary election?”

Veronica McLaurin-Brown, Dorian Cromartie and incumbent Judy Justice secured the three other nominations in the democratic primary. They will be on the November ballot against republicans Pat Bradford, Melissa Mason, Josie Barnhart and incumbent Pete Wildeboer in the race to fill four open seats on the school board.

Copyright 2022 WECT. All rights reserved.