Rouzer, legislators, sheriffs have challengers as candidate filing period ends

The candidate filing period for 2022 elections in North Carolina ended Friday, resulting in...
The candidate filing period for 2022 elections in North Carolina ended Friday, resulting in several incumbent office-holders in southeastern counties receiving challengers in their reelection campaigns.(WECT)
Published: Mar. 4, 2022 at 2:33 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WILMINGTON, N.C. (WECT) - Congressman David Rouzer will have several challengers in his bid for a fifth term in the United States House of Representatives in 2022. With the candidate filing period having ended, Rep. Rouzer has one primary challenger for the republican nomination, with four democrats seeking the opportunity to oppose him in the November 8th General Election.

Max Southworth-Beckwith of Currie will oppose Rep. Rouzer in the May 17th Primary Election. Candidates Charles Evans of Fayetteville, Charles Graham of Lumberton, Yushonda Midgette of Wilmington and Steve Miller of Wilmington are running in the democratic primary.

More than two dozen candidates filed to run to succeed Richard Burr as U.S. senator from North Carolina. Eleven democrats, 14 republicans and one libertarian are seeking the seat.

Several legislators representing southeastern North Carolina in the General Assembly do not have opponents in their 2022 reelection efforts. Senators Bill Rabon (R-NC8) of Winnabow and Brent Jackson (R-NC9) of Autryville did not receive any challengers during the filing period. Representatives Carson Smith (R-NC16) of Hampstead, Charlie Miller (R-NC19) of Southport, William Brisson (R-NC22) of Dublin and Brenden Jones (R-46) of Tabor City will also run unopposed.

State Senator Michael Lee, who currently holds the District 9 seat, filed to run in District 7 in 2022. The geography is similar, covering most of New Hanover County. But redistricting changed the district’s number. Sen. Lee does not have a republican primary opponent, but democrat Jason Minnicozzi of Wilmington filed to challenge him in the General Election.

In the state house, incumbent Rep. Frank Iler (R-NC17) of Shallotte will not have a primary opponent. But two candidates, Edward McKeithan of Bolivia and Eric Terashima of Leland, filed to run in the democratic primary. Rep. Deb Butler (D-NC18) will not have a democratic challenger in her reelection bid, but will face republican John Hinnant of Wilmington in November. Another incumbent seeking reelection, Rep. Ted Davis (R-NC20) of Wilmington, will be unchallenged in the primary. He will face democratic candidate Amy DeLoach of Wilmington in the General Election.

Nearly all elected sheriffs in southeastern North Carolina counties have challengers in their campaigns for new four-year terms. The longest-serving sheriff in the area, Ed McMahon of New Hanover County, is seeking a fourth full term in the office after first being appointed in 2009. He will face challenger Kelvin Hargrove in the democratic primary election. Matt Rhodes filed to run as a republican candidate in the sheriff’s race.

Sheriff Alan Cutler of Pender County is running for a second term. He has two challengers in the republican primary, Mike Sorg of Hampstead and Mike Korn of Burgaw.

Sheriff Jody Greene, who is also seeking a second term in Columbus County, will not have a republican primary opponent. Two candidates, Jason Soles and Victor Jacobs of Whiteville, will face off in the democratic primary for the change to oppose Sheriff Greene in November. In Bladen County, incumbent Sheriff Jim McVicker will face Gary Edwards of Bladenboro in the republican primary, with Hakeem Brown of Council and Guy Childress of Bladenboro signed up as democratic candidates in the race.

Sheriff John Ingram of Brunswick County does not have an opponent in his reelection bid in 2022.

Click here to view the statewide list of candidates for the 2022 elections.

Copyright 2022 WECT. All rights reserved.