Advertisement

NC Forest Service issues burn ban for all North Carolina counties

The burn ban prohibits the burning of yard debris, trash, lumber, or other debris.
Published: Nov. 29, 2021 at 3:50 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NORTH CAROLINA, N.C. (WECT) - The North Carolina Forest Service and the Fire Marshal’s Office have issued a ban on all open burning in all counties across North Carolina because of the extreme dry conditions that increase risk of forest fires.

The statewide burn ban prohibits the burning of yard debris, trash, lumber, or other debris.

The restriction went into effect Monday, November 29, 2021 at 5 p.m.

The ban does not apply to outdoor charcoal or gas grills; however, the public is advised to take precautions to prevent fire or sparks from escaping the grill.

Also, local government agencies in Columbus County, Pender County, the Town of Leland, the Town of Oak Island and the unincorporated areas of Brunswick and New Hanover Counties applied bans on open burning within 100 feet of any occupied dwelling.

North Carolina is currently experiencing moderate drought conditions in addition to a high fire danger index rating from the N.C. Forest Service.

The burn ban remains in place until further notice and, to date, the weather forecast is not showing any significant rain events in the near future.

Local fire departments and law enforcement officers are assisting the N.C. Forest Service in enforcing the burn ban.

Non-compliance with the ban may lead to charges for violating the County Fire Ordinance and application of other civil penalties.

According to the N.C. Forestry Service, under North Carolina law, the ban prohibits open burning, regardless of whether a permit was previously issued. New permits are suspended until the ban is lifted.

Forest rangers may take steps to extinguish or control fires within 100 feet of a structure. However, anyone violating the burn ban may be liable for any expenses related to extinguishing the fire and may face $100 civil penalty. Anyone burning outside of the 100 feet will be fined $100 plus $183 court cost.

Click here for more information about wildfire risk assessments, and preparedness and prevention plans.

Copyright 2021 WECT. All rights reserved.