Four southeastern North Carolinians receive Dogwood Awards

Attorney General Josh Stein today awarded four southeastern North Carolina leaders with the...
Attorney General Josh Stein today awarded four southeastern North Carolina leaders with the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award.(DOJ)
Published: Nov. 23, 2021 at 10:37 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

RALEIGH, N.C. (WECT) - Attorney General Josh Stein awarded North Carolina leaders with the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award Tuesday.

These awards are presented annually to honor North Carolinians who work to keep people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities.

Of the 36 recipients this year, four were from the Cape Fear region:

Deborah Dicks Maxwell, President of the North Carolina NAACP, Wilmington, and a member of the Task Force for Racial Equity in Criminal Justice.

“It’s been an honor to serve on the Task Force for Racial Equity in Criminal Justice with Deborah,” said Stein. “I’ve seen firsthand how dedicated she is to building a more equal North Carolina and ensuring that our criminal justice system both keeps people safe and treats everyone fairly. We’re all better off for having her champion equality and justice as president of the North Carolina NAACP.”

Kemp Burdette, Cape Fear River Watch Riverkeeper.

“North Carolina has long been at the forefront of discussing the harms of PFAS, or forever chemicals, to our drinking water and people’s health,” said Stein. “That’s in part because of Kemp and Cape Fear River Watch, which have been vocal in calling for attention to the growing dangers of PFAS contamination and the immediate need for the companies that made this mess to clean them up. Kemp’s advocacy is helping us make sure all North Carolinians have clean drinking water.”

Margaret D. Bordeaux, Justice-Involved Overdose Prevention specialist with the North Carolina Division of Public Health’s Injury and Violence Prevention Branch.

“Margaret has built a career on helping make sure that people with addiction get the treatment they need to recover,” said Stein. “Her work helps open up pathways to treatment and recovery for people across our state, and it helps our state find the best solutions for each community. I’m grateful for her dedication to fighting the opioid crisis and getting treatment to those who need it.”

Sara LaVere, director of elections in Brunswick County.

“Elections are the heart of our democracy, and the workers who carry them out are heroes,” said Stein. “Unfortunately, we’ve seen the spread of baseless, misinformed claims about last year’s elections. Sara represents the integrity of our election workers. She made sure her mother’s mail-in ballot was discounted after she sadly passed away. Sara did the right thing, and her actions – and the actions of other election administrators and millions of voters across North Carolina – ensured a secure, legitimate election.”

The full list of the 2021 Dogwood Award recipients is as follows:

  • Dr. Rasheeda Monroe, The Sister Circle, Cary
  • Dr. Netasha McLawhorn, The Sister Circle, Raleigh
  • Dr. Michele Benoit-Wilson, The Sister Circle, Raleigh
  • Dr. Tiffany Lowe-Payne, The Sister Circle, Wendell
  • Dr. Jacqueline Hicks, The Sister Circle, Zebulon
  • Dr. Nerissa M. Price, The Sister Circle, Raleigh
  • Lowe’s Home Improvement, Mooresville
  • President Deborah Dicks Maxwell, North Carolina NAACP, Wilmington
  • Dr. Kerianne Crockett, North Carolina Obstetrical and Gynecological Society, ECU Brody School of Medicine, and Vidant Medical Center, Greenville
  • Kristie Puckett Williams, American Civil Liberties Union of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • Secretary Eddie Buffaloe, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Sheriff Quentin Miller, Buncombe County Sheriff’s Office, Asheville
  • Officer Stephanie Collins, Fayetteville Police Department, Fayetteville
  • Ingram Bell, Gate City Coalition, Greensboro
  • Linda Combs, sexual assault Survivor and advocate, Fayetteville
  • Sue and Rod Lee, HeartWorks, Bayboro
  • Karen Prince, HeartWorks, Bayboro
  • Chief Chris Blue, Chapel Hill Police Department, Chapel Hill
  • District Attorney Matt Scott, Robeson County, Lumberton
  • Sen. Jim Burgin, District 12 (Harnett, Johnson, and Lee counties), Angier
  • Kemp Burdette, Cape Fear River Watch, Wilmington
  • Margaret D. Bordeaux, North Carolina Division of Public Health’s Injury and Violence Prevention Branch, Wilmington
  • Major Elijah Bazemore, Durham County Sheriff’s Office, Durham
  • Kevin Leonard, North Carolina Association of County Commissioners, Apex
  • Sara LaVere, Brunswick County Board of Elections, Brunswick County
  • Rep. Dean Arp, District 69 (Union County), Monroe
  • Rep. Jason Saine, District 97 (Lincoln County), Lincolnton
  • Rep. Donny C. Lambeth, District 75 (Forsyth County), Winston-Salem
  • Rep. Jake Johnson, District 113 (Henderson, Polk, and Transylvania counties), Mill Springs
  • Michelle Ellis, Hunter Huss High School, Gastonia
  • Octavia Hamilton, Isaac Dickson Elementary School, Asheville
  • Dean Bagnoni, John F. Kennedy High School, Winston-Salem
  • Christopher Lane, Chapel Hill Police Department, Chapel Hill
  • Marcus Morris, Scotland Neck Police Department, Scotland Neck
  • Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy, Asheville
  • Piedmont Land Conservancy, Greensboro

Copyright 2021 WECT. All rights reserved.