Rivenbark, Hays, Barfield Jr. lead voting for New Hanover Co. Commissioners seats

The NHC Commissioner race is close after all precincts reported

WILMINGTON, N.C. (WECT) - Bill Rivenbark, Deb Hays, and Jonathan Barfield Jr. are the top vote-getters for the three seats up for grabs on the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners with all precincts reporting Tuesday night.

Rivenbark secured the most votes with 60,249 (17.50%), followed by Hays with 58,578 (17.01%), and Barfield with 58,014 (16.85%).

Elections results won’t be finalized until a canvass by the New Hanover County Board of Elections.

Rivenbark, a Republican, currently serves on the county Board of Education while Hays, a Republican, is a longtime realtor and chair of the New Hanover County Planning Commission and the Wilmington Housing Authority. Barfield, a Democrat, was the lone incumbent seeking reelection and will serve a fourth term on the commission.

Skip Watkins (R) finished with 57,537 votes (16.71%), while Leslie Cohen (D) had 55,498 (16.12%), and Kyle Horton (D) received 54,420 (15.81%)

Republicans Woody White and Patricia Kusek opted not to seek reelection on the board.

Copyright 2020 WECT. All rights reserved.