Gov. Cooper requests additional help for NC counties impacted by Dorian

Gov. Cooper requests additional help for NC counties impacted by Dorian

WILMINGTON, N.C. (WECT) - The governor’s office is asking for more assistance for North Carolina’s Dorian victims.

North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper requested a major disaster declaration from President Trump’s office Friday, September 13.

The initial disaster declaration Cooper requested covers Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell and Washington counties and would trigger FEMA assistance. The program would provide federal cash for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair of disaster-damaged facilities that are publicly owned or owned by certain nonprofit organizations.

In a letter dated Saturday, September 21, 2019, Cooper requested individual assistance to Carteret, Dare, Hyde and New Hanover in addition to the previous request filed last Friday.

“Hurricane Dorian’s destruction disrupted life on North Carolina’s coast. These grants are designed to offer public assistance to get North Carolinians on the path to recovery,” Gov. Cooper said in the press release last week.

Many in Ocracoke lost their homes and property, residents are left wondering whether or not FEMA will show up.

President Trump granted the governor’s request for a pre-disaster declaration ahead of the storm, but last week’s major disaster declaration request has not been approved.

Copyright 2019 WECT. All rights reserved.