Corpening, Van Pelt honored by NC Attorney General

Corpening, Van Pelt honored by NC Attorney General
Judge J. H. Corpening (left) and Meade Horton Van Pelt are recipients of the 2018 Dogwood Award from North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein.

WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) - Judge J.H. Corpening and Meade Horton Van Pelt, both of Wilmington, have received the North Carolina Attorney General’s Dogwood Award, which honors individuals “who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities”.

“All of this year’s honorees are doing vital work to protect and support their fellow North Carolinians and build stable, successful communities,” Attorney General Josh Stein said in a news release. “We are grateful for their contributions to North Carolina, and it is my privilege to recognize them with the Dogwood Awards.”

Judge Corpening serves as Chief District Court Judge for the 5th Judicial District. The release from Stein’s office notes Judge Corpening’s support of pre-trial and criminal justice programs that help offenders rebuild their lives, his advocacy of the Juvenile Justice Reinvestment Act, which prevents 16-and 17-year-olds from being tried as adults for misdemeanors and low-level felonies, and his work spearheading the Intensive Reunification Program, to help children with parents struggling with addiction.

“Judge Corpening’s work on pretrial release and accountability will help us learn more about how to address growing criminal justice costs while prioritizing public safety and fairness,” Stein said in the release.

Meade Horton Van Pelt is Executive Director of the JoAnn Carter Harrelson Center in Wilmington, a nonprofit campus that partners with other organizations to provide centralized humanitarian services. The release from Stein’s office spotlight’s her work after Hurricane Florence, saying “Meade led recovery and relief efforts for people in Wilmington, helping to coordinate volunteers and resources to maximize support and energize rebuilding”.

“I recently had the opportunity to visit with Meade and see first-hand the work the Harrelson Center is doing to rebuild Wilmington after Hurricane Florence,” Stein commented. “She and her team are doing incredible work to coordinate among a variety of nonprofits and other organizations to get help to North Carolinians in need. I am grateful for her service.”

The Attorney General’s office included this full list of 2018 Dogwood Award recipients:

  • Jim Albright, Director, Guilford County Emergency Services, Greensboro
  • Asa Buck, Carteret County Sheriff, Beaufort
  • Mike Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • Becky Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • J.H Corpening, Chief District Court Judge, 5th Judicial District, Wilmington
  • Debbie Dalton, founder of The Hunter Dalton #HDLife Foundation, Cornelius
  • Bill Hollingsed, Chief of Police, Waynesville Police Department, Waynesville
  • Monika Johnson-Hostler, Executive Director, North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Raleigh
  • William Lassiter, Deputy Commissioner of Juvenile Justice, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Bradley Letts, Superior Court Judge, 30B Judicial District, North Carolina Superior Court, Waynesville
  • Spencer Merriweather, District Attorney, Mecklenburg County, Charlotte
  • Kenneth Shultz, Chief of Police, High Point Police Department, High Point
  • John Somerindyke, Lieutenant, Fayetteville Police Department, Fayetteville
  • Kurtis Stewart, Board Chair of the New Bern Area of Improvement, New Bern/Durham
  • Nicole Sullivan, Director, Reentry, Programs and Services, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Meade Horton Van Pelt, Executive Director, The Harrelson Center, Wilmington

Copyright 2018 WECT. All rights reserved.