Vehicle emission tests to end in Brunswick County starting today

Vehicle emission tests to end in Brunswick County starting today
Vehicle emissions testing will no longer be required in Brunswick County. (Source: Pixabay)

BRUNSWICK COUNTY, NC (WECT) - Starting December 1, Brunswick County will be among 26 counties that will no longer require vehicle emissions testing, according to the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality.

The agency has certified the removal the counties from the state’s inspection and maintenance program after receiving final approval from the Environmental Protection Agency.

Those counties include: Brunswick, Burke, Caldwell, Carteret, Catawba, Chatham, Cleveland, Craven, Edgecombe, Granville, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Lenoir, Moore, Nash, Orange, Pitt, Robeson, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Wayne, Wilkes and Wilson.

Vehicle and safety inspections are still required for registration renewal in all 100 counties.

“This change is only possible because of the strides we’ve made in improving air quality throughout the state of North Carolina,” said Assistant Secretary for the Environment Sheila Holman.

The process to remove the emissions inspection requirement in these counties started more than four years ago. The Division of Air Quality determined that ending inspections in these rural counties would not negatively impact air quality or interfere with the attainment status or maintenance of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards.

Emissions inspections are still required in 22 other North Carolina counties.

Copyright 2018 WECT. All rights reserved.