Consider This: 2007 Elections - WECT TV6-WECT.com:News, weather & sports Wilmington, NC

Consider This: 2007 Elections

With all of the attention focused on next year's presidential election, we want to remind you that this year's municipal elections have a greater potential to impact your day-to-day life.

On Tuesday, October 9, Wilmington residents will choose a mayor and three city council members from a field of 15 candidates.

On Tuesday, November 6, over 150 town and county seats are up for election in New Hanover, Brunswick, Pender, Columbus and Bladen counties - mayors, councilmen, commissioners, aldermen and trustees, people who are running to represent your best interests for the future.

Sadly, if history is an indicator, voter turnout will be low, allowing a small number of people to decide who will make the decisions that affect the lives of everyone in our counties, cities and  towns.

WECT is committed to keeping you informed about the candidates and the issues in our newscasts and on WECT.com.

This past weekend we taped two Wilmington City Council Candidate Forums in our studios for the Greater Wilmington Chamber of Commerce, and Wednesday morning we'll tape the Chamber's Wilmington Mayoral Candidate Forum at The Balcony on Dock at 8 a.m.

The Mayoral Forum will air on WECT this Saturday at 7:30 p.m.

All three forums will air on Time Warner Cable and will be available for viewing on the WECT Webcast on WECT.com. Below is the air schedule for the three forums.

Jim Hanchett will also participate in WHQR's Mayoral Candidate Forum on Wednesday, September 19 at 7 p.m. in the WHQR studios.

We'll tape that forum and make it available on the WECT Webcast on our website starting on September 21.

Why are we doing this? We think that voting is more than just a right, it's a privilege. A privilege that many Americans take for granted, but people around the world are fighting and dying for.

Don't ignore your responsibility.

Educate yourself about the candidates and the issues, and vote. It's one of the most important things you can do for your family's future.

That's what we think. Tell us what you think. (kd)

City of Wilmington Mayoral Candidates' Forum on Time Warner

Wednesday, Sept. 19 @ 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 20 @ 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22  @ 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 25 @ 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 28 @ 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 29 @ 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday Oct. 3 @ 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 6 @ 9:00 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 8 @ 6:30 p.m. 

And 24/7 on WECT Webcast on WECT.com starting September 17

                                           

City Council Candidates' Forum Group One on Time Warner

Monday, Sept. 17 @ 7:00 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 21 @ 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22 @ 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 26 @ 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 29 @ 7:30 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 1 @ 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 4 @ 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 6 @ 7:00 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 8 @ 8:00 p.m.

And 24/7 on WECT Webcast on WECT.com beginning September 12

 

City Council Candidates' Forum Group Two on Time Warner                                  

Tuesday, Sept. 18 @ 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22 @ 7:00 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 25 @ 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 27 @ 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 29 @ 8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 2 @ 7:00 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 5 @ 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 6 @ 8:00 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 8 @ 7:00 p.m.

And 24/7 on WECT Webcast on WECT.com beginning September 12

  • Trending StoriesTrending StoriesMore>>

  • NASA issues warning: You may have a bad pair of eclipse glasses

    NASA issues warning: You may have a bad pair of eclipse glasses

    Friday, July 21 2017 11:22 AM EDT2017-07-21 15:22:03 GMT
    The path of the total solar eciipse on August 21, 2017 crosses directly over Columbia and the Midlands. (Source: NASA)The path of the total solar eciipse on August 21, 2017 crosses directly over Columbia and the Midlands. (Source: NASA)

    As the world, the United States, and South Carolina prepared for arguably the coolest celestial event in decades, our old friends at NASA want you to know that pairs of unsafe solar eclipse glasses are being distributed. 

    More >>

    As the world, the United States, and South Carolina prepared for arguably the coolest celestial event in decades, our old friends at NASA want you to know that pairs of unsafe solar eclipse glasses are being distributed. 

    More >>
Powered by Frankly