Feight and Jordan headline UNCW award winners

Feight and Jordan headline UNCW award winners


WILMINGTON, North Carolina – Junior All-America baseball player Nick Feight and senior softball pitcher Peyton Jordan and received the Thomas V. Moseley Awards as UNCW's top student-athletes for 2016-17 during the Athletic Awards Banquet on Monday night at the Burney Center.

Senior outfielder Robbie Thorburn of the baseball team was named as the male recipient of the Chancellor's Cup. Senior infielder Lauren Moore of the softball was the female honoree of the award.

Senior Kathryn Ostrom of the women's swimming and diving team and junior Julio Moncada of the men's soccer team earned the Soaring Seahawk Award. Ostrom was also named as the winner of the Pat Howey Outstanding Student-Athlete Leadership Award.

The softball team, off to a record-setting start, claimed the Team Leadership Award and the SAAC Spirit and Pride Award. Bill Rudisill, a longtime member of the Seahawk Club, received the William J. Brooks Distinguished Service Award.

A two-time Second-Team All-Colonial Athletic Association selection, Jordan is enjoying a stellar senior campaign for the Seahawks, who stand 28-7-1 on the season. The Waxhaw, N.C., product has fashioned a 13-2 record in the circle and ranks second in the CAA with a 1.13 earned run average. She threw the fourth no-hitter in UNCW history on Mar. 25 against Drexel and has posted two solo shutouts this season.

Jordan, a four-year starter for Coach Kristy Norton, ranks second in school history with 42 career victories and her 10 career shutouts are tied for third on the Seahawks' all-time list.

Feight, the 2016 CAA Player-of-the-Year, was a six-time All-America selection his sophomore season after tying the school record with 24 doubles and 21 home runs while driving in a school-record 91 runs, which also led the nation.

The Gainesville, Va., product is tied for the team lead with nine home runs this season, moving him into a tie for fifth on the Seahawks' all-time list with 31 career homers. He also ranks among the Seahawks' all-time leaders with 119 career RBIs, including a team-high 25 this season. He was recognized as the CAA Preseason Player-of-the-Year in a vote of the league's head coaches.

Thorburn earned CoSIDA Academic All-District® honors as a junior and advanced to the national ballot for the Academic All-America® team. He is one of four Seahawks to advance to the final ballot in baseball. The Raleigh, N.C., native hit a career-high .364 as a junior and was named second-team All-ABCA as well as All-CAA.

As a senior, Thorburn has already matched his career high with three home runs and leads the team with nine stolen bases. He is one of three Seahawks to start all 30 games so far this season.

A four-year starter for the Seahawk softball team, Moore has started 164-of-172 games in her career, including all 36 contests this season. The Farmville, N.C., native is tied for fourth on the team with a .313 batting average with 31 hits, including five doubles and a home run.

An outstanding student with a 3.95 grade point average in biology with a minor in neuroscience, Moore was named as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award in February and has served as the president of the UNCW Student-Athlete Advisory Committee the last two years.

Ostrom finished fifth in the 100-yard Breaststroke at the CAA Championships with a time of 1:02.58 and placed third in the consolation final of the 200-yard Breaststroke in 2:18.75. She earned first place in the 100-yard Breaststroke in four meets during the regular season and claimed first place in the 200-yard Breaststroke against Campbell on Feb. 4.

The softball team earned the 17th annual Team Leadership Award, presented each year to an athletic team that demonstrates excellent leadership skills through community service in addition to charitable and educational events. Under Norton's leadership, the Seahawks recorded more than 2,000 hours of community service in over 30 projects.2016-17 UNCW Athletic Awards Banquet Special Award Winners
Chancellor's Cup Award (Men) – Robbie Thorburn, baseball
Chancellor's Cup Award (Women) – Lauren Moore, softball
Thomas V. Moseley Award (Men) – Nick Feight, baseball
Thomas V. Moseley Award (Women) – Peyton Jordan, softball
Soaring Seahawk Award – Julio Moncada, men's soccer; Kathryn Ostrom, women's swimming and diving
Pat Howey Outstanding Student-Athlete Leadership Award – Kathryn Ostrom, women's swimming and diving
Team Leadership Award – Softball
SAAC Spirit and Pride Award – Softball
William J. Brooks Distinguished Service Award – Bill Rudisill, Seahawk Club