Four Seahawks earn postseason honors

Four Seahawks earn postseason honors

WILMINGTON, NC (UNCW News Release) - Four members of the two-time Colonial Athletic Association champion UNCW men's basketball team have been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 10 Team.

Senior guards Chris Flemmings and Denzel Ingram were joined by sophomore guard C.J. Bryce and sophomore forward Devontae Cacok on the NABC All-District 10 Team second team in voting by members of the organization.

Flemmings, a first-team All-CAA selection, ranked second on the team in scoring (15.8 ppg) and rebounding (5.6) as the Seahawks set numerous school records during a 29-6 campaign. The Cary, NC, product shot 47.2 percent from the field and 77.2 percent at the free throw line.

Ingram, from Chapel Hill, NC, collected 14.6 ppg and dished out 189 assists to earn second-team All-CAA accolades. Ingram started all 35 games and drained 109 3-pointers, tying all-time great Brett Blizzard for the most triples in a single season in school history.

The smooth-shooting Bryce made first-team All-CAA after leading the Seahawks with a 17.4 ppg average and ranking third in rebounding at 5.4 rpg. The Charlotte native was named MVP of the CAA Tournament as the Seahawks matched the conference record with their sixth CAA crown.

Cacok, from Riverdale, Georgia, was arguably the CAA's most improved player in 2016-17. After seeing limited action in his rookie campaign, the forward almost averaged a double-double this season with 12.3 ppg and 9.8 rebounds, emerging into a dominant force inside for the Seahawks. He was voted third team All-CAA and was named the league's defensive player of the year.

UNCW won its third consecutive regular season championship and went undefeated in the league tournament for the second straight year.

2016-17 NABC Division I All-District 10 Team

First Team
Player, School

T.J. Williams, Northeastern
Joe Chealey, Charleston
Daniel Dixon, William & Mary
Jarrell Brantley, Charleston
Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra
Second Team
Player, School

Denzel Ingram, UNCW
C.J. Bryce, UNCW
Omar Prewitt, William & Mary
Devontae Cacok, UNCW
Chris Flemmings, UNCW
Copyright 2017 WECT. All rights reserved.