Pender County GOP Chairman will cast a North Carolina Electoral Vote for Trump

Pender County GOP Chairman will cast a North Carolina Electoral Vote for Trump

HAMPSTEAD, NC (WECT) - The chairman of the Pender County Republican Party will cast one of North Carolina's 15 votes to elect Donald Trump as the 45th President of the United States.

Bob Muller, who is also a former chairman of the Seventh Congressional District Republican Party, will go to Raleigh on Dec. 19 as a member of the North Carolina Electoral College. Muller says he campaigned for the position during the District Convention in April.

"I feel very honored to have this responsibility," Muller said. "This is something that I've always wanted to do."

The number of electors for any state equals the number of senators and representatives the state has in Congress.In North Carolina, each congressional district selects a representative to the Electoral College, and two "at-large electors" are chosen at the state convention.

Donald Trump won the electoral vote against Hillary Clinton in the General Election, but Clinton will win the popular vote. That has many of Clinton's supporters campaigning to eliminate the Electoral College as the process to determine the President of the United States. Muller disagrees with that idea.

"We are the United States of America," Muller said. "The Electoral College gives each state a part to play in the election of the President of the United States. If we didn't have the Electoral College, I feel the campaigning would all be done in New York, California and the big cities. I feel every state should have a role to play in the election."

Here is a list of the 2016 Republican Presidential Electors in North Carolina (from the NC Secretary of State's Office):

At Large       Lee Bossen Green 
At Large       David Glenn Smudski 
District 1       Linda Ruth Lamm Harper 
District 2       Charles C. Staley 
District 3       Karen deJong Kozel 
District 4       Martha Williams Jenkins 
District 5       Celeste Cox Stanley 
District 6       Donald Matthew Webb 
District 7       Robert Muller 
District 8       Jennifer Anne Dunbar 
District 9       Andrea Shannon Arterburn 
District 10     Glenn Pinckney, Sr. 
District 11     Mark T. Delk 
District 12     David Speight 
District 13     Ann S. Sullivan 

Copyright 2016 WECT. All rights reserved.