Catlin appointed to seat on Coastal Resources Commission

Catlin appointed to seat on Coastal Resources Commission

WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) - Governor Pat McCrory has appointed former lawmaker Rick Catlin to the North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission.

Catlin recently resigned during his second term representing District 20 in the North Carolina House of Representatives, serving northern New Hanover County. During that time in the General Assembly, Catlin was co-chair of the House Environmental Committee. Gov. McCrory appointed Holly Grange of Wilmington to serve the remainder of Catlin's current term.

The Coastal Resources Commission was created when the General Assembly adopted the Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA) in 1974. The commission establishes policies for the N.C. Coastal Management Program and adopts implementing rules for both CAMA and the North Carolina Dredge and Fill Act. The commission also designates areas of environmental concern, adopts rules and policies for coastal development within those areas and certifies local land use plans. There are 13 members on the Commission, appointed by the governor and leaders in the state House and Senate.

To learn more about the CRC click here:

Copyright 2016 WECT. All rights reserved.