Early voting begins Thursday in Congressional primary elections

Early voting begins Thursday in Congressional primary elections

ELIZABETHTOWN, NC (WECT) - Voters will go to the polls for a second time across North Carolina starting Thursday, May 26, as early voting begins for the June 7 primary election. Eleven primary elections will decide candidates running for seats in Congress, but only one congressional primary race involves voters in southeastern North Carolina.

The current district maps have the western part of Bladen County in the Ninth Congressional District, where incumbent Robert Pittenger is seeking a third term in office. Pittenger has two challengers in the Republican primary, Mark Harris of Charlotte and Todd Johnson of Union County. The winner of the primary will face Democrat Christian Cano in the General Election.

Voters across the state will cast ballots in a Judicial Election. Three candidates are running against incumbent Robert Edmunds for Associate Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, Michael R. Morgan, Daniel Robertson and Sabra Jean Faires.

To find out when and where early voting sites will be open in your county click here: http://bit.ly/1LYUtQ9

To find out which Congressional District you vote in click here:  http://bit.ly/27RKDg0

Copyright 2016 WECT. All rights reserved.