UNCW's Leskinen named CAA player of the year

Tennis pow

WILMINGTON, North Carolina – On the eve of the 2016 Colonial Athletic Association Tennis Championships, UNCW senior Santtu Leskinen has been named the league's Men's Tennis Player-of-the-Year, marking only the third time a Seahawk has earned the honor.
Leskinen was one of six UNCW players included on the All-CAA men's team released by the league. The All-CAA women's squad featured four honorees.
A native of Helsinki, Finland, Leskinen played No. 1 all season for the Seahawks, who carry a No. 67 ranking into Friday's CAA tourney opener vs. No. 8 Delaware. The veteran, ranked No. 120 by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), compiled a 9-7 singles record en route to First-Team All-CAA accolades and joins former standout Rafael Aita (2013 and 2014) as a recipient of the accolade.
Leskinen was joined on the CAA's Singles First-Team by senior Christiaan Van der Burgh, who also made First-Team All-CAA in doubles with newcomer Aviv Ben Shabat. Freshman Agustin collected Second-Team honors in singles and sophomore Josh Hublitz was selected to the All-Academic Team.
On the women's side, sophomore Madara Straume made First-Team All-CAA in singles and the tandem of senior Christine Kharkevitch and freshman Laura Gomez notched First-Team in doubles. Junior Alix Theodossiou rounded out the honorees by being named to the All-Academic Team.
The top-seeded UNCW men open play on Friday at 9 a.m. when Coach Mait DuBois and his club face No. 8 Delaware at the Burlington Tennis Center. The fifth-seeded UNCW women take on No. 4 Charleston at the same time at Elon's Jimmy Powell Tennis Center.

Jimmy Powell Tennis Center/Burlington Tennis Center | April 21-24, 2016 | Elon, N.C.

Thursday, April 21 – First Round (Jimmy Powell Tennis Center – Elon University)
10 a.m.    Women - #8 Hofstra vs. #9 Delaware
Friday, April 22 – Quarterfinals (Men at Burlington Tennis Center/Women at Jimmy Powell Tennis Center)
9 a.m.    Women - #1 William & Mary vs. Hofstra/Delaware winner
     Women - #4 College of Charleston vs. #5 UNCW
9 a.m.    Men - #1 UNCW vs. #8 Delaware
Men - #4 William & Mary vs. #5 Drexel
1 p.m.    Women - #2 Elon vs. #7 Drexel
Women - #3 James Madison vs. #6 Towson
1 p.m.    Men - #2 College of Charleston vs. #7 James Madison
Men - #3 Elon vs. #6 Hofstra
Saturday, April 23 – Semifinals (Jimmy Powell Tennis Center – Elon University)
10 a.m.    Men – UNCW/Delaware winner vs. W&M/Drexel winner
                    Men – CofC/JMU winner vs. Elon/Hofstra winner
2 p.m.    Women – W&M/Hofstra-Delaware winner vs. CofC/UNCW winner
Women – Elon/Drexel winner vs. JMU/Towson winner
Sunday, April 24 – Championships (Jimmy Powell Tennis Center – Elon University)
10 a.m.    Men's Championship
  2 p.m.    Women's Championship