2016 USL Soccer season format set

2016 USL Soccer season format set

TAMPA, Fla. – The United Soccer League today announced the alignment, regular season and playoff format for the 2016 USL Season, with 29 teams set to compete in the league's sixth season in pursuit of the USL Cup.

Six new teams will join the USL in 2016, as Bethlehem Steel FC, FC Cincinnati, Orlando City B, Rio Grande Valley FC, the Swope Park Rangers and San Antonio are all set to compete in the new season.

The USL will continue in a two-conference format, with 14 teams making up the Eastern Conference and 15 teams making up the Western Conference. The 30-game regular season will be conducted over 27 weeks, which will kick off on March 25 and conclude on September 25.

Eastern Conference                                                        Western Conference

Bethlehem Steel FC                                                       Arizona United SC

Charleston Battery                                                          Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

Charlotte Independence                                              LA Galaxy II

FC Cincinnati                                                                     OKC Energy FC

Harrisburg City Islanders                                              Orange County Blues FC

Louisville City FC                                                             Portland Timbers 2

FC Montreal                                                                       Real Monarchs SLC

New York Red Bulls II                                                     Rio Grande Valley FC

Orlando City B                                                                   Sacramento Republic FC

Pittsburgh Riverhounds                                                                Saint Louis FC

Richmond Kickers                                                            San Antonio

Rochester Rhinos                                                            Seattle Sounders FC 2

Toronto FC II                                                                      Swope Park Rangers

Wilmington Hammerheads FC                                   Tulsa Roughnecks FC

Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

The team with the best record across both conferences will earn the 2016 USL Regular Season Title. The top eight teams in each conference will then advance to the 2016 USL Playoffs, which will see a single-elimination bracket crown two conference champions. The two conference champions will advance to the 2016 USL Championship.