Several incumbents sign up on first day of candidate filing period

Several incumbents sign up on first day of candidate filing period

WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) - Several incumbents signed up to run for re-election on the first day of the candidate filing period in North Carolina.

State lawmakers Rep. Frank Iler (R-Brunswick), Rep. Ted Davis (R-New Hanover) and Sen. Bill Rabon (R-Brunswick) were among the first to visit their local Board of Elections office Tuesday afternoon. Rabon and Iler are seeking their fourth full-terms in the General Assembly, although Iler has served an extra year in Raleigh after being appointed to the state House in 2009. Davis has served two full terms after he replaced the retiring Danny McComas in the state House in 2012. Rep. William Brisson (D-Bladen) filed to run for a sixth term in District 22, which covers all of Bladen and parts of Sampson and Johnston counties.

New Hanover County Commission Chairman Jonathan Barfield filed to run for a third four-year term on that board. Barfield ran the for the Seventh Congressional District seat in 2014, losing to former state Senator David Rouzer. Commissioner Woody White said he has not decided whether to seek another term on the board. Commissioner Beth Dawson's term on the board also ends in 2016.

In Brunswick County, Commissioner Frank Williams filed to run for re-election in the District 5 race, after winning his seat in 2012. Chairman Scott Phillips and Vice-Chair Pat Sykes are also up for re-election next year.

Two members of the Columbus County Board of Commissioners also filed for re-election on the first day. James Prevatte, the District 2 commissioner, and District 4 office-holder Edwin Russ are signed up to run. Current District 3 Commissioner Giles Byrd and Commissioner Chairman Trent Burroughs are also up for re-election in 2016.

In Pender County, District 5 Commissioner Demetrice Keith filed to run for re-election on Tuesday. District 4 Commissioner Fred McCoy is also up for re-election in Pender County next year.

Two incumbent commissioners in Bladen County have decided to run for new terms. District 3 Commissioner Wayne Edge and county-wide Commissioner James Smith filed on the opening day. Fellow county-wide Commissioners Billy Ray Pait and C. Michael Cogdell are up for re-election in 2016, along with District 1 Commissioner Delilah Blanks and District 2 Commissioner Daniel Dowless.

Watch for updates to this story as additional candidates file for office. The filing deadline is Monday, December 21.

Copyright 2015 WECT. All rights reserved