UNCW inducting four into Athletic Hall of Fame

UNCW inducting four into Athletic Hall of Fame

News release from UNCW:

Men's basketball legend John Goldsberry, college baseball coaching icon Rick Jones, track and field star Anna Raynor Marbry and women's basketball scoring phenom Tressa Reese McKeithan will be honored during the 11th induction of the UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame on campus in early February.
The addition of the four individuals raises the group's elite membership to 48 overall since the inaugural event took place in 1998.
An induction brunch will be held on Saturday, Feb. 13, 2016, at 10 a.m. in the Warwick Center. Tickets are $20 each and may be purchased on-line at UNCWSports.com or daily at the Athletic Ticket Office in Trask Coliseum.
The popular Goldsberry returns to campus to be honored for the second straight year after having his jersey retired at halftime of the William & Mary game last February.

A native of Vandalia, Ohio, Goldsberry played four years for the Seahawks from 2003-06 and sparked the team to a pair of Colonial Athletic Association men's basketball championships and subsequent NCAA appearances in 2003 and 2006. He started 121 games, collecting 1,104 points, 405 rebounds, 530 assists and 228 steals. In addition to his perch atop the assist chart, he is tied for seventh on the all-time scoring list and ranks second all-time in steals.

The hard-nosed playmaker made a big splash in his freshman season in 2002-03, earning CAA All-Rookie honors and setting an NCAA Tournament record by draining all eight of his three-point field goal attempts en route to 26 points in a narrow loss to Maryland. Goldsberry was a three-time member of the CAA's All-Defensive Team and was selected as the CAA's Defensive Player-of-the-Year in 2005. He was also named MVP of the 2005 Black Coaches Association Invitational in Laramie, Wyo.

Goldsberry's honors didn't end on the basketball court. He was a three-time member of the CAA's All-Academic Team, received UNCW's Thomas V. Moseley Award in 2005 and earned the CAA's prestigious Dean Ehlers Leadership Award in 2006. He was also selected as the CAA's Men's Basketball Scholar Athlete-of-the-Year in 2006 and was recognized as one of the top 25 players in the history of CAA basketball during the league's Silver Anniversary celebration.

Goldsberry returned to the United States last year following a spectacular professional career with the German League's Brose Baskets in Bamberg. Goldsberry emerged as a star overseas after leading the Brose Baskets club to championships in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. He also powered the team to German Cup crowns in 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012.
A spectacular track and field athlete, Raynor Marbry remains one of the athletic program's most decorated performers in any sport.
The Benson, N.C., product competed four seasons in the hurdles and javelin for the Seahawks from 2004-07 and racked up numerous honors and awards. During her career with the Seahawks, she set 10 school records and became the first NCAA Division I All-American in school history when she finished 11th at the 2005 NCAA Track and Field Championships.
A three-time selection as CAA Track & Field Athlete-of-the-Year, Raynor Marbry was also named CAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2007 and, like Goldsberry, was chosen to the CAA's Silver Anniversary Team. The three-time CAA champion was an All-East choice three times and earned All-CAA recognition nine times in four events (javelin, high jump, long jump, 100m hurdles).
Raynor Marbry participated in the NCAA Championships on three occasions, finishing fourth in the javelin in 2006 and 2007. She came in third in the javelin at the USA Championships in 2007 and wound up 14th at the 2008 U.S. Olympic Trials. She also represented the United States in international competition in 2007, earning a silver medal at the 2007 NACAC Games in San Salvador, El Salvador.
She continues to hold the CAA and ECAC meet records in the javelin and currently teaches special education at South Johnston High School in Four Oaks, N.C.
Jones, meanwhile, played two seasons for the Seahawks in 1974 and 1975 and led the Seahawks to the NAIA finals in 1975. Jones was a middle reliever for the Seahawks, appearing in 17 games and making three starts, but found his life's calling in the dugout.
The 1975 UNCW graduate broke into the coaching profession at Ferrum (Va.) and amassed a 1,090-532-3 head coaching record at Ferrum (1982-84), Elon (1985-89) and Tulane (1994-2014), including a sparkling 814-439-2 mark in 21 seasons with the Green Wave.
Jones directed a pair of Tulane teams to the College World Series in 2001 and 2005 and coached the Green Wave to 12 NCAA Regional appearances and three trips to the NCAA Super Regionals.
Jones, who piloted the Green Wave to four regular season championships in Conference USA and four C-USA Tournament crowns, was honored 20 times as a Coach-of-the-Year and was named Baseball America's National Coach-of-the-Year in 2005 after leading Tulane to a 56-12 record and a berth in the CWS.
Jones also led the Tulane baseball program during a challenging period following the devastation leveled by Hurricane Katrina in the summer of 2005. He will be inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in late June of 2016.
Reese McKeithan becomes the fourth Seahawk women's basketball player to be enshrined in the school's Athletic Hall of Fame. The native of Fayetteville, N.C., displayed a silky smooth shooting touch during her career from 1988-91 as the Seahawks registered 51 victories during that span.
Reese McKeithan started 84-of-106 games over four seasons and closed out her career with 1,501 points and 535 rebounds, one of just three players with more than 1,500 points and 500 rebounds in the Seahawk annals.
Reese McKeithan, who ranks fourth on the all-time scoring list, posted the fifth highest single season point total in school history with 523 points in 1989-90 and posted the fourth highest single season scoring average with 20.1 points per game that season.
Reese McKeithan was a two-time All-CAA selection, a three-time CAA Player-of-the-Week pick and earned All-Tournament honors at Georgia Tech's Comfort Inn Downtown Classic in 1990.