Accenture Match Play field finalized - WECT, weather & sports Wilmington, NC

Accenture Match Play field finalized


The stage is set for next week's World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship, with the field finalized as of 5 p.m. ET today.  Henrik Stenson, Justin Rose, Rory McIlroy and Zach Johnson, Nos. 3, 5, 6 and 7, respectively, in the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR), lead the list of those who qualified for and committed to the Accenture Match Play Championship.  The 2014 brackets and tee times will be unveiled on Sunday night, with the brackets/seeding based on the OWGR released following the conclusion of the Northern Trust Open.

The Accenture Match Play Championship returns to The Golf Club at Dove Mountain, in Marana, Ariz., February 17-23.  The 32 First Round matches begin Wednesday, February 19, with Matt Kuchar (No. 9) looking to defend his title and retain the Walter Hagen Cup.

Tiger Woods (No. 1), Adam Scott (No. 2) and Phil Mickelson (No. 4) are not in the Accenture Match Play Championship field and are replaced South Africa's Richard Sterne (No. 65), American Scott Piercy (No. 66) and 2013 Asian Tour Order of Merit winner Kiradech Aphibarnrat of Thailand (No. 67).

In the event a player withdraws from the Accenture Match Play Championship before the brackets are released on Sunday night, the next player in the Official World Golf Ranking gains entry into the field and the brackets are re-ordered.  If a player withdraws after the brackets are released, the next player on the alternate list takes his place in the bracket.  The next three players in the Official World Golf Ranking (as of February 10) are: Brooks Koepka (No. 68; USA); Brendon de Jonge (No. 69, Zimbabwe); and Peter Uihlein (No. 70, USA).

A total of 37 international players are among the field of 64, representing 18 countries.  South Africa leads the way with six players. England and Spain follow with five and four players, respectively. Next are Sweden (3), Australia (2), Denmark (2), Italy (2), Northern Ireland (2), Thailand (2), Austria (1), Canada (1), Finland (1), France (1), Germany (1), Japan (1), the Netherlands (1), Scotland (1), Wales (1).

With 19 countries, including the United States, this year ties for the most countries represented by the field (2006, 2009, 2010).

Field as of 5 p.m. ET, 2/14/2014

Aphibarnrat, Kiradech
Bjorn, Thomas
Blixt, Jonas
Bradley, Keegan
Coetzee, George
Day, Jason
DeLaet, Graham
Donaldson, Jamie
Donald, Luke
Dubuisson, Victor
Dufner, Jason
Els, Ernie
English, Harris
Fdez-Castano, Gonzalo
Fowler, Rickie
Furyk, Jim
Gallacher, Stephen
Garcia, Sergio
Grace, Branden
Haas, Bill
Hanson, Peter
Horschel, Billy

Ilonen, Mikko
Jaidee, Thongchai
Jimenez, Miguel A.
Johnson, Dustin
Johnson, Zach
Kaymer, Martin
Kirk, Chris
Kuchar, Matt
Larrazabal, Pablo
Leishman, Marc
Luiten, Joost
Lynn, David
Mahan, Hunter
Manassero, Matteo
Matsuyama, Hideki
McDowell, Graeme
McIlroy, Rory
Molinari, Francesco
Moore, Ryan
Olesen, Thorbjorn
Oosthuizen, Louis
Piercy, Scott

Poulter, Ian
Reed, Patrick
Rose, Justin
Schwartzel, Charl
Simpson, Webb
Snedeker, Brandt
Spieth, Jordan
Stadler, Kevin
Stallings, Scott
Stenson, Henrik
Sterne, Richard
Streelman, Kevin
Stricker, Steve
Walker, Jimmy
Watney, Nick
Watson, Bubba
Weekley, Boo
Westwood, Lee
Wiesberger, Bernd
Woodland, Gary

Copyright 2014 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.


Powered by Frankly