Auburn AD: 'We are reviewing Roberts' blog allegations as matter - WECT TV6-WECT.com:News, weather & sports Wilmington, NC

Auburn AD: 'We are reviewing Roberts' blog allegations as matter of procedure'

File Photo: Auburn Athletics Director Jay Jacobs File Photo: Auburn Athletics Director Jay Jacobs
AUBURN, AL (WSFA) -

Auburn University Athletics Director Jay Jacobs broke the University's 24-hour old promise not to comment on a report alleging numerous NCAA violations by the Auburn Tigers football team.

"Anytime accusations are made against Auburn, we take them seriously. We have no reason to believe these allegations are either accurate or credible. However, as a matter of procedure, we are reviewing them carefully. 

It is important to note that several of the sources in this story have since indicated they were either misquoted, quoted out of context or denied the allegations. 

Unfortunately, the reporter who published this story did not fully represent to us what the story was about when requesting an interview. We were only told that the reporter was working on a story about the alleged armed robbery involving four former football players, which occurred over two years ago. 

We were never told the story would include allegations about academic fraud or improper benefits. Had we known that, we would have responded immediately with the statement above."

Jacobs' statement comes several hours after former Auburn head football coach Gene Chizik released a statement calling the report "long on accusation and inference, but short on facts and logic."

Chizik, who was fired following a dismal 2012 season, said he remains part of the Auburn family and is taking Roberts' "attacks" seriously.

Copyright 2013 WSFA 12 News.  All rights reserved.

  • SEC FootballSEC CoverageMore>>

  • Third UGA football player arrested since SEC Championship victory

    Third UGA football player arrested since SEC Championship victory

    Wednesday, December 13 2017 1:30 PM EST2017-12-13 18:30:58 GMT
    Thursday, December 14 2017 11:08 AM EST2017-12-14 16:08:13 GMT
    Source: University of Georgia via websiteSource: University of Georgia via website

    Freshman defensive back Latavious Brini was arrested on a felony charge of forgery in in the first degree. 

    More >>

    Freshman defensive back Latavious Brini was arrested on a felony charge of forgery in in the first degree. 

    More >>
  • Bulldog legend reminisces about 1943 Rose Bowl

    Bulldog legend reminisces about 1943 Rose Bowl

    Wednesday, December 13 2017 5:09 PM EST2017-12-13 22:09:36 GMT
    Wednesday, December 13 2017 5:15 PM EST2017-12-13 22:15:46 GMT
    Charley Trippi with his wife Peggy. (Source: WGCL)Charley Trippi with his wife Peggy. (Source: WGCL)

    The march to the championship is extra special for a Georgia football legend. 

    More >>

    The march to the championship is extra special for a Georgia football legend. 

    More >>
  • LSU back at practice, focus turns to Notre Dame

    LSU back at practice, focus turns to Notre Dame

    Derrius Guice should be avaliable for Notre Dame game. Source: Mark LaGrangeDerrius Guice should be avaliable for Notre Dame game. Source: Mark LaGrange
    LSU went back to work this week in preparation for the Citrus Bowl against Notre Dame. A win would be nice, but this is also a chance to get some freshman playing time to get ready for 2018. Well it'll come in practice only. "Those guys will get more reps. So I'll give them a couple of more reps at the end of a team period. It's sending the wrong message to our football team. It's all focus on winning the game. Exactly what we did last year," said LSU Head Coach Ed Org...More >>
    LSU went back to work this week in preparation for the Citrus Bowl against Notre Dame. A win would be nice, but this is also a chance to get some freshman playing time to get ready for 2018. Well it'll come in practice only. "Those guys will get more reps. So I'll give them a couple of more reps at the end of a team period. It's sending the wrong message to our football team. It's all focus on winning the game. Exactly what we did last year," said LSU Head Coach Ed Org...More >>
Powered by Frankly