Wrightsville Beach Biathlon - WECT TV6-WECT.com:News, weather & sports Wilmington, NC

2013 Wrightsville Beach Biathlon winners

Press release from the 2013 WRightsville Beach Biathlon:

Wrightsville Beach, NC - The competitive SUP season opened today in North Carolina with the 4th Annual Wrightsville Beach Biathlon at Blockade Runner Beach Resort. All 2012 Champions enjoyed repeat victories: Bike Cycles (Matt Whistoff and Chris Johnson), Team Relay Champion; Jarrod Covington, Individual Male Champion; and Kimberly Sutton, Individual Female Champion.

The first leg of the race was a four-mile standup paddleboard route looping Banks Channel to Money Island into the Intracoastal Waterway, through Motts Channel and back to the starting point.

With the race half over, biathletes and relay team members left the water and sprinted toward the oceanfront in a four-mile pier-to-pier foot race in beach sand to the finish line.

Relay Team Winners

  1.  Bike Cycles (Matt Wisthoff, Wrightsville Beach, and Chris Johnson, Wilmington)
  2.  Lighthouse Beer and Wine (Jason Adams and Kevin Rhodes)
  3. Cape Fear Analytical (Mike Medwedeff and Rob Moore)


Individual Men's Division Winners

  1. Jarrod Covington, Wrightsville Beach
  2. Jeremy Whitted
  3. Will Kealy


Individual Women's Division Winners

  1. Kimberly Sutton, Wilmington
  2. Dawn Ehman
  3. Karen Wilson
Powered by Frankly