Brisson lone Democrat on House Appropriations subcommittee list

Democrat William Brisson of Bladen County has a leadership position in the GOP led General Assembly
Democrat William Brisson of Bladen County has a leadership position in the GOP led General Assembly

RALEIGH, NC (WECT) – House Speaker Thom Tillis on Tuesday announced his subcommittee chairs for the House Appropriations Committee. The list includes just one Democrat, Rep. William Brisson of Bladen County, who will be one of three co-chairs for the subcommittee on Health & Human Services. Rep. Brisson did vote with the Republican majority several times in 2011-12 sessions to override vetoes by Governor Bev Perdue, and to pass controversial legislation.

"I am a people person, and I came here to represent all people," Rep. Brisson said when asked if the votes may have played a part in the appointment. "If it (a bill) is good for the people of eastern North Carolina, then I will support it no matter who introduced it. At the end of the day that's what it's all about."

A release from the Speaker's Office revealed these appointments:

The Appropriations Subcommittee on Education will be chaired by Reps. Hugh Blackwell (R-Burke), Craig Horn (R-Union), and Chuck McGrady (R-Henderson).

The Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government will be chaired by Reps. George Cleveland (R-Onslow) and Rayne Brown (R-Davidson).

The Appropriations Subcommittee on Health & Human Services will be chaired by Reps. Marilyn Avila (R-Wake), William Brisson (D-Bladen), and Mark Hollo (R-Alexander).

The Appropriations Subcommittee on Information Technology will be chaired by Rep. Jason Saine (R-Lincoln).

The Appropriations Subcommittee on Justice & Public Safety will be chaired by Reps. Leo Daughtry (R-Johnston), Jamie Boles (R-Moore), Pat Hurley (R-Randolph), and John Faircloth (R-Guilford).

The Appropriations Subcommittee on Natural & Economic Resources will be chaired by Reps. Roger West (R-Cherokee) and Pat McElraft (R-Carteret).

The Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation will be chaired by Reps. John Torbett (R-Gaston) and Phil Shepard (R-Onslow).

"The House Appropriations subcommittees do complex policy work for budget preparation and have significant influence over how the House sets spending priorities," Rep. Tillis said in a statement.  "The leaders of these subcommittees have a responsibility to budget efficiently, and I am confident they will do so."

A spokesman for the Speaker's Office said more appointments are expected tomorrow and Thursday.

Copyright 2012 WECT. All rights reserved.