Candidates filed for municipal office

Listed below are the candidates that have filed for municipal office as of July 11.


Wilmington Mayor
Spence Broadhurst
Carl Dean Bailey

Wilmington City Council
John Nesselroade
Kent Chatfield
John Evans
William C. Franklin
Peter DeVita
Christian Verzaal
Braxton Davis Honeycutt

Wrightsville Beach Mayor
Avery Roberts

Wrighstville Beach Board of Aldermen
Barry Mowbray
Robert O'Quinn
Ed Paul

Kure Beach Mayor
Betty Medlin

Kure Beach Town Council
Jennifer LeQuire

Carolina Beach Mayor
Hubert Vincent
Dennis Barbour

Carolina Beach Town Council
Joel Macon
Pat Efird


Bald Head Island Council
John Pitera

Tom Gale

Boiling Spring Lakes Mayor
Joan Kinney

Carolina Shores Mayor
Daniel A. Mann

Caswell Beach Mayor
Harry Simmons

Holden Beach Mayor
James Lowell

Holden Beach Board of Commissioners
Sandra Miller
Beverle Weller
John Alan Holden
Jack Smith

Leland Mayor
Franky Thomas

Leland Town Council
Jane O. Gilbert
Jimmy Medlin

Oak Island Town Council
Dara F. Royals
Reece Simmons

Ocean Isle Beach Board of Commissioners
Allen Hooker

Southport Mayor
Norman R. Holden

Southport Board of Aldermen Ward 1
Mary H. Childs

Southport Board of Aldermen Ward 2
Stuart A. Callari
James Powell

North Brunswick Sanitary District
Minnie C. Brown
James Cooke

Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District
Charles McWells

Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees
Charles Johnson


Burgaw Board of Commissioners
R.E. Brown
Charles Harrell, Sr.
Glenda Teachey

Surf City Mayor
Zander Guy

Surf City Town Council
Donald Helms
Nelva Albury

Topsail Beach Mayor
Bill Stamper

Topsail Beach Board of Commissioners
Bobbie Morrison
Steve Walter
Mark Sloan

St. Helena Town Council
Willie Knowles


Elizabethtown Mayor
Kenneth Kornegay

Elizabethtown Town Council (3 seats available)
Dicky Glenn
Russell Priest

East Arcadia Town Commissioner
Mary Dixon Andrews


Tabor City Mayor
Marion S. Baxter

Whiteville Mayor
Anne W. Jones

Whiteville City Council District 1
Howard Jones
Robert B. Leder

Whiteville City Council District 2
Jimmy Clarida

Lake Waccamaw Mayor
Bo McNeill

Lake Waccamaw Town Council West Ward
Penny L. Grainger

Lake Waccamaw Town Council East Ward
Earl Harris

Chadbourn Mayor
Leo Mercer

Chadbourn Town Council
Kenneth "Kenny" Waddell

Sandyfield Town Council
Alfred B. William, Sr.

Bolton Mayor
Frank Alfred Wilson


Beulaville Commissioner
Joseph "Joe" H. Edwards

Kenansville Commissioner
Mark Vinson

Magnolia Mayor
Melvin Pope
Corbett Quinn

Magnolia Commissioner
Ruth Quinn

Warsaw Commissioner
Tomey Jones

For more information on the candidates that have filed in your city, click on the link for the State Board of Elections