Decision 2010: New Hanover County school board

Reported by Claire Simms – bio |email

NEW HANOVER COUNTY, NC (WECT) - Eight people are running for four seats on the New Hanover County School Board.

Incumbents Nick Rhodes (D), Janice Cavenaugh (R), Don Hayes (R) and Ed Higgins (R) have all served on the board for several years.

Challengers Joyce Huguelet (D), Philip Stine (D), Clancy Thompson (D) and Derrick Hickey (R)hope to get their chance to serve.

Redistricting has been one of the biggest issues since the 2008 election.  Board members have voted twice to redistrict schools based on a "neighborhood schools" concept.

The candidates who support neighborhood schools are Cavenaugh, Hayes, Higgins and Hickey.

Rhodes, Huguelet, Stine and Thompson support diverse school populations.

To see how the candidates stand on balancing the budget and maintaining school facilities, click on the videos above.

Copyright 2010 WECT. All rights reserved.