Some Bladen Co. races are getting competitive

Posted by Debra Worley - email

BLADEN COUNTY, NC (WECT) - Filing for the upcoming election ends Friday, and several races are starting to fill up.

Candidates running for Bladen County Commissioner will have some serious competition as more and more people file to run.  With four days left to file, there are six people vying for county wide commissioner seats. Democrat Kimberly Lamar Johnson withdrew from the race Tuesday.

Five Democrats are competing for sheriff, but the county's only big enough for one.

Below is a list of those who've filed as of Feb. 23:

22ND  North Carolina House of Representatives

  • (Dem)  William Brisson (I)   

County Commissioner - County Wide (Unexpired Term – Ending 2012)

  • (Dem) Albert C. Beatty
  • (Dem) Sue Elkins Hester
  • (Dem) James Michael Johnson
  • (Dem) Kenneth M. Register
  • (Dem) Stanley Adolphus Richardson
  • (Dem)James G. (Jimmie) Smith

County Commissioner - District 1

  • (Dem) Mark Gillespie
  • (Dem) W.D. Neill, Jr. (I)

County Commissioner - District 2

  • (Dem) Charles R. Peterson (I)
  • (Dem) Floyd T. Washington
  • (Rep) Horace Wyatt

County Commissioner - District 3

  • (Dem) Carol R. Bulter
  • (Dem) Russell Priest
  • (Dem) Larry Smith (I)

Board of Education - District 1

  • (Dem) Mike Cogdell (I)

Board of Education - District 2

  • (Dem) Roger Carroll (I)

Board of Education - District 3

  • (Dem) Darrell Page
  • (Dem) Alan T. West

Board of Education - County-wide

  • (Dem) Kip Lancaster (I)
  • (Dem) Berry Lewis (I)
  • (Dem) Vinston M. Rozier (I)


  • (Dem) Hubert C. Kinlaw (I)


  • (Dem) Prentis Benston
  • (Dem) Eric L. Bryan
  • (Dem) K. Rodney Hester
  • (Dem) Charles "Moose" McKeel
  • (Dem) Michael "Bull" Shaw

Register of Deeds

  • (Dem) Charity C. Lewis (I)

Clerk of Superior Court

  • (Dem) Jacquelyne (Gigi) Creed-Enloe
  • (Dem) Niki S. Dennis (I)
  • (Dem) Pamela R. "Pam" Huff

Copyright 2010 WECT. All rights reserved.