New faces on Wilmington City Council

Posted by Lauren Thomson - email

WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) - Charlie Rivenbark and Kevin O'Grady took the oath, and then took their seats on Wilmington City Council Tuesday night.

They have replaced incumbents Jim Quinn, who was on the board for nine years, and Margaret Haynes, who was selected to fill the seat vacated by Jason Thompson earlier this year.

Councilman Earl Sheridan and Mayor Bill Saffo were also sworn-in, after winning re-election in November.

The election of the city's mayor pro-tempore got a bit testy. Council member Laura Padgett was nominated for the position, and expected to have support for the position. But Sheridan was the choice instead, receiving votes from six of the seven members.

Also during Tuesday's meeting, Carolyn Johnson was appointed as the new city attorney, replacing the retiring Tom Pollard. Penelope Spicer-Sidberry was re-appointed as city clerk.

Copyright 2009 WECT. All rights reserved.